Just By Showing Up

Hey, guys? I think you need to know something. You may want to sit down for this–it’s pretty big:

Today you saved a life.

Like, for reals. For really, really reals. There was a person who was planning to commit suicide today, and you stopped that. You. You personally.

Here’s how:

A couple of years ago, I got the idea that I should start a blog. Ok, to be fair, a bunch of people told me I should start a blog, and a couple of years ago I decided to go for it. It’s not like I was doing anything else noteworthy, and it sounded like fun.

Over time, the blog gained some followers. Not enough to get me, say, onto the Today show (what would I even say to Matt Lauer? I mean, really.), but enough that from time to time I’d get delightfully encouraging notes from readers, or get the admittedly slightly embarrassing but nonetheless heartwarming chance to hear directly from folks face-to-face that they enjoyed reading my thoughts and hoped I’d keep at it.

So I kept at it. There have been “fits and starts” moments, sure, like all blogs go through, but I’ve more or less been a blogger for a while now, and much to my delight, I’ve become known as a Blogger Who Helps Change the World for the Better, which is pretty much the best thing ever.

And then National Suicide Prevention Week rolled around again, and I was contacted by a friend at a local branch of the Suicide Prevention Lifeline and asked if I could, y’know, maybe do something. Write some blogs, or do some social media stuff, or generally pitch in via the interwebs.

Now, here’s where you come in: because you clicked on my blogs through the last coupla years and I was able to see that people were reading it, and/or people would come up to me at parties and tell me they were reading it, and/or people would come to visit and talk about pieces of blog posts that had really made an impact on them, and/or people would send emails or leave comments or follow me on Facebook and I could see all of those things, I kept at it.

Because you kept reading, I kept writing.

And because I kept writing, I was asked to write about National Suicide Prevention Week.

And because I have written about Suicide Prevention Week, someone in need may be on this page right now, and seeing the phone number for the Lifeline, which is

1-800-273-TALK (8255)

And that person may be realizing that there is support out there, and that people really do care–even total strangers–and that person may be picking up the phone right this second.

That person may have come to the crossroads, and because you kept reading, that person is making a phone call instead of making an irreversible and utterly tragic decision.

Because you kept reading, you may have saved a life today.

So for reading these last couple of years, thank you. Because as we see time and time again, you never know when a single choice you make is going to turn out to have a giant impact on someone else’s life.

Because of you, a complete stranger might have a tomorrow morning. And all you had to do was click through and read a little blog.

That’s not too shabby for a day’s work, if you ask me.

life-quotes-18

 

P.S.: If you or someone you know is in crisis, please, please please please, please reach out to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. They are amazing people with a ton of resources, and they absolutely will not judge you, not even a little bit. Asking them for help is not a bother or an inconvenience to them–it’s what they’re there for–and I can personally tell you they are very, very nice folks: some of them are good friends of mine. You can reach them 24/7 at 1-800-273-TALK (8255), or at http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ where they even have a chat feature if you prefer to talk with someone online. 

1 Comment

Filed under General Musings and Meanderings, Play Nicely, Share the Toys

One response to “Just By Showing Up

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Sunscreen

Join the Conversation!

