3/13/11, 11:11 a.m.

That's Daddy on the right, having a laugh with Mom and me on my wedding day. Photo by West Birch Photography (http://www.westbirch.com).

 

One year ago today we lost Daddy, after a helluva fight (for a quarter of a century–that’s how tough he was) with heart disease. There are a lot of things I want to say about that, but Holly Dunn already said all of them, so I’ll just borrow her words:

 

“Daddy’s Hands” — Holly Dunn

 

I remember Daddy’s hands, folded silently in prayer.
And reaching out to hold me when I had a nightmare.
You could read quite a story in the callouses and lines:
Years of work and worry had left their mark behind.

I remember Daddy’s hands, how they held my Mama tight,
And patted my back for something done right.
There are things that I’ve forgotten, that I loved about the man,
But I’ll always remember the love in Daddy’s hands.

Daddy’s hands were soft and kind when I was cryin’.
Daddy’s hands were hard as steel when I’d done wrong.
Daddy’s hands weren’t always gentle,
But I’ve come to understand:
There was always love in Daddy’s hands.

I remember Daddy’s hands, working ’til they bled.
Sacrificed unselfishly, just to keep us all fed.
If I could do things over, I’d live my life again,
And never take for granted the love in Daddy’s hands.

Daddy’s hands were soft and kind when I was cryin’.
Daddy’s hands were hard as steel when I’d done wrong.
Daddy’s hands weren’t always gentle,
But I’ve come to understand:
There was always love in Daddy’s hands.

Daddy’s hands were soft and kind when I was cryin’.
Daddy’s hands were hard as steel when I’d done wrong.
Daddy’s hands weren’t always gentle,
But I’ve come to understand:
There was always love…
In Daddy’s hands.

 

 

…I love you, Daddy. I miss you every day, more than I have words to express. Give Grandma a hug for me, would you, and maybe catch a Johnny Cash show? I reckon I’ll be along one of these days, and we can all get together again, maybe have a picnic by the lake and talk about old times. Until then, I’ll think of you every time I hear the songs you loved, and I promise I’ll do my best to take care of Mom.

 

To borrow your words, Daddy, I’ll see you later. Love you.

 

(He would absolutely wring my neck if I didn’t include his favorite song of all time. So Daddy, here you go. This one’s for you.)

2 Comments

Filed under General Musings and Meanderings

2 responses to “3/13/11, 11:11 a.m.

  1. I remember that wedding moment 🙂

Join the Conversation!

