It Is Time

Hello, you beautiful creature(s)!

 

Welcome to Mama Buffalo’s Trail of Muddy Footprints. Grab a snack or a beverage, get comfy, and let’s have storytime, shall we?

 

First, I should probably note that technically my “it is time” moment happened about three weeks ago. But I wasn’t blogging then, so perhaps we can all just pretend that my inner light bulb has just gone off and agree that in this sort of story, the details don’t matter nearly as much as the narrative itself. *grin*

 

Here’s the story: Once upon a time, there was a girl who bloomed a little sooner than her classmates. Elementary school kids, lacking a strong comprehension of the concept of “early physical maturation”, defaulted to using the word “fat”. And since they were far more vocal than she was–and since she did have a certain fondness for packaged snack cakes and second helpings of chicken nuggets–the label stuck, and became gradually more appropriate over time. And more appropriate. And even more appropriate.

 

As she grew up, she discovered that she was a boredom eater. She discovered that she was a depression eater. And after her first fiance ran off with the 20-year-old voice major, she discovered that she had a lot of spare time and a lot of spare sadness and suddenly found herself with a lot of cartons of ice cream lying around the place. And when the next Major Relationship happened, she spent a lot of time hearing that the only reason he loved her was because of her bust size, which, unsurprisingly, decreased the first time she started losing any weight. But he was attractive and she felt undesirable, so when he called her on it and threatened to leave her for it, she put the weight back on and stuck around. For five years.

 

But all of that is in the past. Now the girl is happily married to a ludicrously supportive man, one who supports her in her every endeavor and who encourages her to pursue her goals.

 

So it’s time for the girl to get on board too.

 

…I started jogging about 3 weeks ago, doing an oh-so-modified version of the Couch-to-5k program (http://www.c25k.com/) because a friend of mine had recommended it and I figured it couldn’t possibly get me farther from my fitness and healthy lifestyle goals. At nearly 350 pounds, I know I’ve got a way to go before I even really make it to full participation in the Week 1 routine (60 seconds running, 90 seconds walking, lather, rinse, repeat). And I’ve got issues with my joints–not surprising, given my weight–which sometimes make it difficult to talk myself into going out the door at all.

 

But I’m going. I’m up, I’m moving, and I’ve been at it for a little while now. And so I figured it was high time I start a blog to share this story with people; I reckon that even if only one person reads it and finds even a shred of inspiration in it, then my time on this planet has served a purpose.

 

So off we go. Who wants to come with?

–Mama Buffalo

4 Comments

Filed under General Musings and Meanderings, Play Nicely

4 responses to “It Is Time

  1. Adam Noakes

    I love this! You are amazing and I support you all the way! I come from a slue of eating disorders in the past 5 years of my life and all that one needs to do to loose weight is get out there and be active. You are a great story teller I look forward to all of your blogs. They make me smile. Congrats.

    • Yay! I made somebody smile today! My work here is done. 🙂

      Seriously, glad to have you along. And if I can make you grin occasionally, then we’ll just consider that partial payback for all the times you’ve made me snort soda into my nose (hint: think “at least once a week”, lol).

  2. Star Kenney

    Me! I want to come with!

Join the Conversation!

